Amazing Sea Turtle Facts

Sea turtles are turtles that live in the oceans of the world. Sea turtles are classified into seven species: leatherback, green, flatback, loggerhead, hawksbill, Kemp's ridley, and olive ridley.

1. All seven species are considered threatened or endangered. Two are critically endangered (hawksbill and Kemp’s ridley), one is endangered (green and and three are threatened (leatherback, olive ridley, and loggerhead). Flatbacks are listed as data deficient on the IUCN Red List but are listed as endangered in Australia.

2. It is estimated that only one out of 1,000 hatchlings survives to be an adult. They have many natural predators including birds, crabs, fish, and mammals like raccoons. But the female adults can lay thousands of eggs over their lifetimes, so at least a few of them survive to maintain the species.

3. The sex of sea turtles, like other reptiles, depends on the temperature in the nest. That temperature is generally around 82 degrees F (29 degrees C) though that can vary by species and location.

4. Sea turtles don’t have a favorite food (though most will eat jellyfish.) Each species focuses on different prey for food; the leatherback eats mostly jellyfish, greens primarily eat seagrass, loggerheads prefer crustaceans, and hawksbills eat primarily sea sponges.

5. Some sea turtles migrate very long distances while others stay close to home. Leatherbacks and loggerheads can travel thousands of miles yearly, while greens and olive ridleys have shorter migrations, while hawksbills rarely leave a relatively small area.

An educational blog shared by the Apex Academy, Daycare and Preschool in North Richland Hills, Texas.


Popular posts from this blog

Role of a Family on the Development of Children

How To Help Children And Teens Manage Their Stress

Foods You Should Avoid for Your Children